It happens. You stay up too late and like a page you wouldn’t have like had you been well rested. Now that page keeps spamming you and you don’t know how to un-follow that page. Now you will. Un-following, un-liking, leaving a Facebook page is really simple if you just know where to look and what to do when you get there. This short video should help you quickly leave any or all of your Facebook pages or find new ones to like or follow.
We’re all still exploring new territory. Oh I know there are some people who have offered concrete facts based on opinion alone – keep your eyes on them they’ll be re-adjusting their facts with time, they always do. Let’s talk for just a minute about the value of a Facebook “Like”. Fortunately I’ll be able to give you some data from a reputable study and I’ll accompany that with my normal advocacy for thinking like a small businessperson. See most studies follow enterprise corporations like the one I currently work for. After all how exciting is data from Mary Lou’s Nails and Curls? Well, for Mary Lou it’s not only exciting but crucial to her success.
What is a Facebook "Like" worth to small business?
Our example proves enterprise data to be more exciting because the target mark for this Vitrue study from 2010 uses a factor of 1,000,000 fans. If Mary Lou has that many fans I’m giving this report only to her and in a closed conference room. She ain’t got that many – she’s reading this because it’s free and that’s her budget for social support (or at least that’s what she thinks so far). You’re more like Mary Lou than the example company with a million fans. Still, let’s look at their projections.
Essentially, according to a report in AdWeek, Vitrue’s studies and calculations conclude that with 1,000,000 fans (likes) this “translates into at least $3.6 million in equivalent media over a year”. In other words with 1,000,000 fans you can save $3.6 million in online (PPC) advertising, theoretically. This happens because “Likes” are shared on users activity stream and is syndicated to their audiences in addition to yours. You just increased your reach because of something your fan did and that did not cost you a cent.
“Vitrue arrived at its $3.6 million figure by working off a $5 CPM, meaning a brand’s 1 million fans generate about $300,000 in media value each month. Using Vitrue’s calculation, Starbucks’ 6.5 million fan base — acquired in part with several big ad buys — is worth $23.4 million in media annually.” – AdWeek
Chances are if you are reading my little blog post you don’t have 1 million fans. Sorry, that’s just the way it is. We need to graduate you from me. My readers are more likely to have 10,000 or fewer fans with the exception of a few guests from Social Media Edge Radio who just happened to be interested enough to read. More than like you are in the 300 to 3,500 fan range so how do we calculate the value for you?
For those of you who have used WordPress for any time at all this may seem a very elementary question. So often for new users it is one of the first questions they have around the time the site is turned over to them by the installer or after they complete an installation and begin using the site. After all everyone wants “web pages” and it plainly says there in the menu bar “Pages”.
Here is the main difference in appearance, not function or personality, between pages and posts (generalized):
Posts become part of the “blog” or “articles” and show up in reverse chronological order on the site.
Pages appear as a single “page” within the site generally linked from the menu bar or sidebar.
As with everything WordPress there are customizations which ultimately determine how the site visitor interacts with your site so pages and posts may be used differently on customized sites but the above is true in most WordPress installations.
Is it possible to have a WordPress site with only pages?
Of course it is. I have had several clients over the years not want a “blog” but because WordPress is so simple for anyone to install, setup and use I pointed them to WP as their solution. For most people there is no need to modify the installation and take away the ability to create posts they simply remember: only create new pages.
Twenty years ago when you applied for a business phone it took about a week for the yellow directory sales pitches to start. They would drop in, phone, send cards and letters, rinse and repeat. My very first purchase of a yellow directory ad just about made me regurge but I knew I had to have it back in 1980. In fact without a yellow directory listing back then if you depended on people who did not drive by your storefront, I was in the entertainment electronics retail business, you may as well put on a monkey suit and stand on the street corner … selling rocks.
The cost of my first add, a half-page, was $3700 for a year. It reached roughly 180,000 people in 112,000 homes if I remember right. It worked. Most of my business back then came from the yellow directory with my second amount from storefront advertising.
The yellow directory was, for all practical purposes, the top search engine of the day. It produced a significant amount of revenue for shops like mine, plumbers, lawyers, auto-repair, tailors, doctors, squirrel catchers, and many more. There was, however, a major catch: once that ad was printed and distributed it was set for the next 12 months. If you were specific about discounts or hours or special product offerings you better still be able to deliver.
Enter the digital age and live engagement
The ratio of use of yellow directory to purchase was in some cases staggering. Clients did not, generally, surf the yellow directory. Only when a real solution was needed do one look for the book and take a walk with their fingers. This point of need rendered a higher rate of return per “impression” than we generally see online today.